[insert-author-info] On Wednesday June 1st, the New York City area’s A/E/C marketers showcased their enthusiasm, dedication and style when they came out in full force to celebrate the achievements of our members at the SMPS-NY Annual Meeting and Awards Gala. Midtown Manhattan’s Lexicon featured an elegant space for cocktail-hour networking, as well as a two-tiered dining room layout that provided great views of the program for all.   During the cocktail hour portion of the evening, guests reconnected with old friends and established new connections. Posters were on display highlighting this year’s amazing Marketing Communication Award (MCA) winning submissions, and attendees were encouraged to cast their ballots for their favorite to win the “People’s Choice Award,” to be presented later in the evening. Then it was time for dinner and the program to begin. (Obviously the crowd was enjoying the cocktail-hour networking, as it was a little difficult to get everyone to move to their seats. A special “thank you” goes out to Deborah Rosenberg, SMPS-NY Director of TME, for helping usher the crowd to the right place!) The festivities continued with the dinner and the program. SMPS-NY President Alicia Koledin was the emcee for the evening, and introduced the program. The MCA judges were introduced to present the awards to the 2016 MCA winners, whose marketing initiatives demonstrated successful use of striking graphics and great storylines to promote their firms’ unique cultures and to generate positive client and industry feedback: Winners:
  • • Leslie E. Robertson Associates (LERA) – Brand Identify
  • • Array Architects – Event/Holiday Piece (Print)
  • • HLB Lighting Design – Event/Holiday Piece (Digital)
  • • VHB – Marketing Campaign
  • • HLB Lighting Design – Social Media
  • • ARUP – Website
  Honorable Mentions:
  • • Hunter Roberts Construction Group – Brand Identity
  • • VHB – Event/Holiday Piece (Print)
  • • Array Architects – Marketing Campaign
  • • Microdesk – Social Media
  • • First Environment – Website
  Next it was time for the presentation of the Leadership Awards. Erika Capek of Buro Happold was congratulated as the winner of the Mary Findlen Professional Development Grant, which will send her to the SMPS Build Business conference in Philadelphia this August. Meredith Lovejoy, Director of Global Marketing at Shen Milsom & Wilke, was recognized as Principal of the Year for her success in advancing marketing to the top level of A/E/C firms. Then, it was time to announce the winner of the People’s Choice Award, which was presented to…(drumroll, please)…LERA, whose re-branding campaign used great photography, vibrant color, and big images to convey their expertise and their commitment to design excellence and integrity. Carrie Villani accepted the award on behalf of her team. The most highly anticipated part of the night may have been the presentation of the coveted “President’s Cup,” a tradition started a few years ago by Jason Vesuvio in which a trophy engraved with the winners’ names is passed from year-to-year to the individual who has achieved the most for the Chapter according to the current Chapter President. President Alicia described how she knew that the award should go to none other than Alexis Newman, Director of the Communications Committee, who built that committee from a committee of 1 to a committee of 26, and successfully guided that committee to put together a more effective website, countless e-blasts promoting SMPS-NY events and initiatives, program handouts and presentation collateral, and much more. (Alicia also pointed out Alexis’s fondness for posting everyone’s photos on Facebook.) Patti Grew, SMPS-NY President Elect, who will take over for Alicia in September, then stepped to the stage and introduced the 2016-2017 Board of Directors. All in all, it was a fun night to celebrate our individual and collective accomplishments. A big thank you goes out to our MCA and Leadership Judges: Iva Kravitz, Cristian Fleming, Ana Granados, Susan Wallace, Jenna McKnight, Julie Pampuch, David Grant, and Patricia Neumann, as well as Ashok Sinha Photography (http://www.ashoksinha.com) for capturing the fun spirit of the event. Click here to see photos from the event.