LinkedIn Logo Twitter Logo Facebook Logo Facebook Logo Instagram Logo

EVENT RECAP | LIBERTY BALL Awards & Annual Meeting 2017

June 23rd, 2017

Featured Author

Toni Taylor, CPSM, AIA Associate Member


Create & Share Media

With the Statue of Liberty against a glorious sunset in the background on June 8, 2017, more than 100 New York City area A/E/C marketers gathered for The Liberty Ball Awards Gala and Annual Meeting. With 360 degree views of New York Harbor and Battery Park, Battery Gardens was the perfect venue for an evening of introducing the chapter’s new leadership team and celebrating award winning work by our friends and colleagues. Click here to view pictures from the event.

During the cocktail hour members networked, re-connected with old friends and made new ones while enjoying the stunning view. From a display of posters, guests admired the great work submitted for the Marketing Communications Awards and cast our ballots for the People’s Choice Awards.

As dinner got underway, Scott Stelzer (improv extraordinaire as well as Enterprise Account Manager, Trimble – SketchUp – Sefaira) kicked off the awards ceremony. He and our 2016-17 President, Robin Carathanasis (Lilker Associates Consulting Engineers, PC) highlighted the outstanding work done by the winners.

The first order of business was the introduction of the 2017–2018 SMPS-NY Board of Directors, whose term begins September 1, 2017. President-Elect, Alexis Newman (Simpson Gumpertz & Heger (SGH)), did the honors.

Your new board includes:

President: Alexis Newman, MBA
Senior Marketing Specialist, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger (SGH)

Vice President/President-Elect: Kourtenay Mott, LEED GA
Marketing Director, ONELUXstudio

Immediate Past President/Director of Chapter Advisory Council: Robin Carathanasis
Marketing Manager, Lilker Associates Consulting Engineers

Secretary: Julie Pampuch
Managing Director, WB Engineers+Consultants

Treasurer: Connie Luongo
Director of Operations, Mancini•Duffy

Communications: Erika Capek
Marketing Manager, BuroHappold Engineering

Leadership: Rhonda Cardone
Marketing Director, NY, Dewberry

Long Island Affiliate: Corrine Collins
Marketing Manager, Nelson & Pope

Membership: Atena Vladu
Senior Marketing Manager, Langan

New Jersey Affiliate: Kristy Cerullo
Marketing/Proposal Manager, First Environment, Inc.

Professional Development: Genesis Vasquez
Senior Marketing Coordinator, HLB Lighting Design

Programs: Christy Rose, PMP, LEED AP, RLA
Manager, Client Relations, Liebhaber Company
Public Relations: Olivia Farquharson
Senior Digital Marketing Manager, Shen Milsom & Wilke LLC

Special Events: Jonas Foster, Affiliate IALD, Assoc. AIA
Senior Associate/National Marketing Manager, HLB Lighting Design

Sponsorship: Brian C. Ferry
Writer, Editor, Brand Manager, Marketer, Dot Connector, Networker

THE Marketing Event (TME): Brien McDaniel
Director of Communications, Senior Associate, FXFOWLE

Westchester Affiliate: Anastasia Guadron
Marketing A/E/C, Vividmark

Presented by: Scott Stelzer, P.E.
Trimble – SketchUp – Sefaira 

Rising Star of the Year:
Genesis Vasquez

Senior Marketing Coordinator, HLB Lighting Design

The Rising Star of the Year Award salutes a Marketer who has shown dedication to the Chapter through committee involvement and leadership and maintains high standards of marketing and a commitment to professionalism within the A/E/C industry.

With her focus on team work, Genesis exceeds the criteria with the impact of her multifaceted work with HLB Lighting Design and the SMPS chapter. We look forward to seeing her continued success in the industry and the chapter.

Marketer of the Year:
Carrie Villani

Director of Marketing, LERA Consulting Structural Engineers

This was the first year for the Marketer of the Year award, which salutes a Marketer’s achievement, extraordinary leadership, and significant contributions to their firm’s marketing success during the past year. To be eligible for the Crown Award, the candidate must be a mid- to senior-level marketer who demonstrates a passion for out-of-the-box thinking, creativity, and communication skills. 

Carrie’s creation of the SMPS Coordinators Club, which has contributed to the professional success of many of our members, and her inspired work at LERA in support of their global success set a very high bar for future recipients.

Vanguard of the Year:
Sarah Nolan Hoff

Principal, Cerami & Associates

The Vanguard award salutes a senior-level professional who actively promotes the strategic vision and values of the company and fosters a culture throughout his / her firm that encourages all staff, administrative or technical, to contribute to their Marketing, Business Development and Public Relations efforts. 

As a long time, very active SMPS member, Sarah has moved from being an inspired marketer to being an inspired leader for the chapter, her firm, and the industry. Her leadership focus on the success and happiness of her team members, resulting in the impressive growth and effectiveness of the chapter and Cerami make her the perfect recipient of the Vanguard of the Year award.

President’s Cup Recipient:
Michael McCann, FSMPS, CPSM

Business Development and Marketing Manager, The Clarinet Group

The President’s Cup is an award in recognition of outstanding service to SMPS NY.

In presenting the President’s Cup Award, chapter President Robin Carathanasis highlighted Michael’s 25 years as an SMPS-NY member in multiple leadership roles (some more than once), including his current term on the Advisory Council. His impact is also felt at the regional and national levels of SMPS where he has served in various organizational, advisory, and leadership roles. Michael is a frequent speaker at every level of SMPS and regular contributor to SMPS Marketer. His generosity and thoughtfulness make him a true leader and mentor. As Michael is a trusted mentor to many in the group, he thanked his mentors over the years, including Sharyn Yorio and Deborah Rosenberg. He looks forward to his role as a Trustee of the SMPS Foundation.

Presented by: Scott Stelzer P.E.
Trimble – SketchUp – Sefaira 

Brand Identity
1st Place – Mathews Neilsen Landscape Architects (MNLA)
2nd Place – Cerami & Associates 
Honorable Mention – Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers (MRCE)

Event / Holiday Piece
1st Place – HLB Lighting Design
2nd Place – FXFOWLE
Honorable Mention – LERA Consulting Structural Engineers

1st Place – HLB Lighting Design
2nd Place – BuroHappold Engineering
Honorable Mention – LERA Consulting Structural Engineers

Promotional Campaign
1st Place – BuroHappold Engineering
2nd Place – LERA Consulting Structural Engineers
Honorable Mention – Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc. (SGH)

1st Place – HLB Lighting Design
2nd Place – Shen Milsom & Wilke, LLC (SM&W)
Honorable Mention – PKSB Architects

Best In-House Design
HLB Lighting Design

People’s Choice
LERA Consulting Structural Engineers

Best In Show
HLB Lighting Design

For the great evening that was the 2017 Liberty Ball, many thanks are in order. First our event sponsors, LERA, HLB, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, PKSB, Substance151, Cristaux International, Adrian Montanez for his excellent photography, and ABC Imaging as in kind sponsor.

Many more thanks to the judges for making the hard choices from so many excellent entries in all categories. They include Michael Bonomo, Jane Felsen Gertler, Larry Fuersich, Lauren Hlavenka D’Urso, Nancy Kleppel, Ida Cheinman, James Kent, and Sharyn Yorio.


Blog Archive

Maximize Your Exposure

sponsor smps-ny

Join the Club

become a member

Get Involved

join a committee

See Us in Action

view our galleries

Be in the Know

join our e-mail list